Happy New Year

Family1 Dec 24th 2015 1.57.53 PM

Family portrait

Happy new year! This blog sort of dropped off in the second half of last year, but one of my new year’s resolutions is to start blogging again… So here goes!

2015 was a year full of change: Alex and I went from two enthusiastic travelers to nesting (and proud) parents of Baby M. Our days are now filled with dirty diapers, spit up, and watching in awe as our daughter becomes a little human being. Every day, we see more of her unique personality, and every day, we look at her and then at each other in amazement (“We made her! She came from us!”). And, our weekends are now filled with children’s birthday parties and figuring out the best way to get from Point A to Point B with a stroller and carseat (summary: transportation without a car has gotten a lot more complicated. Actually, going anywhere has gotten a lot more complicated…).

Our friends and family always said of having kids, “Your life will never be the same again” but still there are things about parenthood that surprise us. For example, more often than not, I’m still in my pajamas until the early afternoon (OK, that’s a lie… late afternoon… or all day). Or, how much my heart fills with love from just one, lopsided smile (my dad says, “She smiles like Harrison Ford!” Think about it… you’ll see it too). And, I never thought I’d be so happy/relieved to have to change a poopy diaper (“Is she constipated?” “Why hasn’t she pooped in two days?!”), and conversely, be worried about too many poopy diapers (“Does she have diarrhea?” “Was it the Mexican food I ate last night?” “Why did she poop twice today?!”).

Since we’re living so far away from (most of) our families, I have definitely come to value (and miss) family. A lot. I’m jealous of my friends who live so close to their families. Grandma misses baby? Hop in a car and zip on over to Grandma’s house. Want to go on a rare dinner or movie (never both! since Baby M won’t take the bottle!) date? Grandparents to the rescue! It was SO nice to be in the U.S. for two whole weeks over the holidays, not only because there were so many hands to help out (my shoulders were finally pain-free!!), but because Baby M got to meet and spend so much time with her extended family. At the airport, on the morning of our flight back to Seoul, I turned to Alex and said, “It’s time to come home” (meaning the States), and he nodded in agreement. (And then we proceeded on our 24 hour long -door to door- journey back to Seoul… I honestly don’t know how expat families can handle traveling with kids on LONG flights and handle the jet lag.)

One thing I know for sure: if I was a worrier before, it’s magnified tenfold now that I have a little person who completely and utterly depends on me (and Alex) for everything. Welcome to parenthood! 🙂

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Happy New Year”

  1. Shirley says :

    👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Leave a Reply

