Hiking Dobongsan Midweek

 

Temple with Dobongsan peak in background

Temple with Dobongsan peak in background

Temple on a hill

Temple on a hill

A couple of weeks ago, I went to Dobongsan for another hike. This time, I went with some Samsung trailing spouses (including a trailing husband!) during the middle of the week. Although it was my third time at Dobongsan, we managed to find yet another trail. And of course, I made sure to steer the group away from the Y-Valley path!

Close up of bell and roofing

Close up of bell and roofing

We were greeted by the same friendly park ranger as we entered the park. He kept on saying, “The views on the top of the mountain are breathtaking! So beautiful! Korea number one!” He then said, “But I have never been to the top.” Haha! He totally discredited himself! As we were hiking (and breathing hard), we joked that the “breathtaking views” were literally that- breathtaking because of the climb. 😛

Beautiful bright colors

Beautiful bright colors

Some trees still had bright crimson, orange and yellow colored leaves. We hiked past several beautiful temples. One of the temples had a well with spring water that was supposed to give us long lives. But, as soon as we saw an old ahjussi (Korean for uncle) drink directly from the ladle and then put it back, we decided to pass!

Funny juxtaposition of old kimchi pots and satellite dish

Funny juxtaposition of old kimchi pots and satellite dish (white- to the right of the big rock)

Unfortunately, it was another hazy day in Seoul, so the views from up top weren’t spectacular, but the fall foliage was gorgeous! I met an ahjussi who started speaking to me in Chinese! He said he’s been practicing his mandarin by going to China and also taking classes at a local school. He asked for my number because he wanted to practice his pronunciation (I have yet to hear from him… hmm).

Another temple with golden Buddha

Another temple with golden Buddha

We were running out of time so we didn’t make it to the peak but we still enjoyed some great views before hiking down and having a well-deserved lunch!

The weather has gotten really chilly in Seoul, so I think this hike to Dobongsan will be the last hike of the season…

Pathway to yet another temple

Pathway to yet another temple

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Hiking Dobongsan Midweek”

  1. drzejan says :

    From your photos it really doesn’t seem like there was your average Korean ‘fog’ 😉

    Idea of going there during week is awesome as I don’t see anyone on your photos and when I think about note from over one month ago, when it was fall peak, you really must have gone to some remote place 😉

    I saw this temple from far away and I wanted to take some nice shots of it but I didn’t have proper lens with me (damn, now I need to bring few of them for all of my trips…). After all I don’t like one thing in all Korean temples. They cover them with nice colours but it would be much better if everything was first carved and then covered with paint 😀

    Nice photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

